legislature in 1986 had 58 members, including 37 Progressive Conservatives, 20 Liberals and one New Democrat.

Quebec. In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and an executive council. As the representative of the Crown, the lieutenant-governor plays a role in the functioning of both branches. The Honourable Gilles Lamontagne assumed that office on March 28, 1984. The election for the 33rd legislature was held December 2, 1985. Party standings were: 99 Liberals and 23 Parti Québécois.

Ontario. The government of Ontario consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander took office as lieutenantgovernor on September 20, 1985. A legislative assembly composed of 125 members was elected May 2, 1985. As of November 1, 1986 there were 51 Progressive Conservatives, 50 Liberals and 24 New Democrats.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Parks Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Manitoba. In addition to a lieutenant-governor, Manitoba has an executive council composed of 21 members and a legislative assembly of 57 members. The Honourable George Johnson was appointed lieutenant-governor on November 14, 1986. In the general election of March 18, 1986, 30 New Democrats, 26 Progressive Conservatives and one Liberal were elected to the 33rd legislature.

Saskatchewan. The government of Saskatchewan consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Frederick W. Johnson, QC, is the lieutenant-governor. The statutory number of members of the legislative assembly is 64. As of November 12, 1986, Saskatchewan had 38 Progressive Conservatives, 25 New Democrats and one Liberal in the legislative assembly.

Alberta. In addition to the lieutenant-governor (since January 22, 1985 the Honourable Helen Hunley) the government of Alberta is composed of an executive council and a legislative assembly of 83 members. On May 8, 1986, 61 Progressive Conservatives, 16 members of the New Democratic Party, four Liberals and two members of the Representative Party of Alberta were elected to form the 21st legislature.

British Columbia. The government of British Columbia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly of 69 members. On July 13, 1983 the Honourable Robert Gordon Rogers took office as lieutenantgovernor. As at October 22, 1986 the assembly consisted of 47 Social Credit members and 22 New Democrats.

19.6.2 Territorial governments

Yukon. The constitution for the government of Yukon is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c.25). The Yukon Act provides for a commissioner as head of government and for a legislative body called the Yukon legislative assembly. Under the Government Organization Act, the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada is responsible (with the Governor-in-Council) for directing the commissioner in the administration of Yukon.

In 1979 the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada brought in changes which altered the executive level of the Yukon government. It now consists of five elected members of the Yukon legislative assembly who are appointed to an executive council or cabinet by the commissioner, upon the recommendation of the government leader. The commissioner is still the senior representative of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada in Yukon and performs duties similar to those of a lieutenant-governor in relation to the legislature. The executive council members are assigned portfolio responsibilities by the government leader.

The Yukon Act delineates the jurisdiction of the legislative assembly. It is like those of the provincial assemblies and has jurisdictional control of all matters of a local nature except that the federal government, through Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, retains control of Yukon's renewable and non-renewable natural resources. Jurisdiction for the territory's wildlife rests with the Yukon government. The legislature is called into session by the commissioner on the advice of

the majority party leader.

Legislative authority for Yukon is vested in the Commissioner-in-Council. All bills must be approved by council and assented to by the commissioner before becoming law. As in other jurisdictions, the Governor-in-Council may disallow any ordinance within one year. Ordinances are printed on a sessional basis and consolidated annually.

Amendments to the Yukon Act passed by Parliament allowed for an expansion of council membership from 12 to 16 in 1978 and provided for future expansion to 20.